My Little Life

Musings, Observations, Shameless Plugs, and Recipes from a reluctant Southerner.

My Heritage: The Conflict March 27, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Amy @ 12:18 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Everyone on my facebook knows (from St. Patrick’s Day) that I am very much Irish. Both sides of my family, numerous lines on each side. I’ve even tracked the Connally side of my family all the way back to County Donegal, as they moved to Galway to catch the boat set to land in Virginia to make a new start in the mid 1600’s. Yes, I’m a nerd.

The next generation of Connallys moved into North Carolina, and my 5th great grandfather gave a lot of land to what would soon be University of North Carolina Chapel Hill. He also worked as a recruiter in the American Revolution, and his son John William was a Sergeant.

My 3rd great uncle owned The Green Bottom Inn and Tavern that sat on what is now part of the Alabama A&M Campus in Huntsville. Andrew Jackson, yes, “Ol’ Hickory”, used to race his horses there, and just happened to be there the night before Alabama became a state in 1819.

Needless to say, I am proud of my rich heritage.

The other big bloodline I have is Cherokee, as do many Southerners. Family tales tell that my great (times I’m not so sure) grandfather; who was white, hid my great (again I’m not so sure how many times over) grandmother (Cherokee) in a cave during The Trail of Tears to keep officers from finding her and making her comply with the forced migration. Some Marshall County natives don’t realize there was a camp set up at Gunter Landing to ship off the Cherokee via the river.

You’re probably wondering why I’m blathering about my heritage. A lot of times I’m conflicted about it. Whose side do I take? The immigrants who are responsible for making our great America what it is today; Or, the Natives who were here since God was a fetus. Or, do I just shrug and say “This was just what was in the cards for us.”?

All of this is because of my stumbleupon.com find for the day. I think it’s brilliant.

An old Cherokee chief was teaching his grandson about life…

“A fight is going on inside me,” he said to the boy.
“It is a terrible fight and it is between two wolves.

“One is evil – he is anger, envy, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, resentment, inferiority, lies, false pride, superiority, self-doubt, and ego.

“The other is good – he is joy, peace, love, hope, serenity, humility, kindness, benevolence, empathy, generosity, truth, compassion, and faith.

“This same fight is going on inside you – and inside every other person, too.”

The grandson thought about it for a minute and then asked his grandfather,
“Which wolf will win?”

The old chief simply replied,
“The one you feed.”

Another Amy’s heritage fun fact – On one side of my family, I’m Filipino. How random is that?

 

One Response to “My Heritage: The Conflict”

  1. Vaughan Connally Says:

    Hello!
    I just ran across your blog and I am extremely interested in the information you have about the Connally line. Would you be willing to share this information? I’m curious to see if it is three brothers that included Hugh and Thomas Connally. My understanding is they settled into what is now Charleston, SC.
    Thanks!
    Vaughan


Leave a Reply

