My Little Life

Musings, Observations, Shameless Plugs, and Recipes from a reluctant Southerner.

Birthday Blog! May 18, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Amy @ 8:27 pm

First off, I just want to say thank you so much to all of the people who took a second to wish me a happy birthday! By my count, 55 57 58 59 60 62 63 64 76 people had wished me a happy birthday via facebook. Yes, I counted! You guys have no idea how much it means to me. You all had a hand in making number 29 the best birthday yet. I’m serious . . . best birthday yet. This one topped 16, 18, 19, and 21 by a metric crap ton. I have to be the most blessed person alive. I truly believe that.

This is especially special because this is my last “birthday”. From now on I will be celebrating the anniversary of turning 29. I refuse to turn 30.

The best way I know how to give you the rundown of my day is to do it via food. Because celebration = food.

Since this is the case, I guess I started celebrating a couple days ago. Every year my Mom lets me pick out a cake, or whatever sweet treat I want. This year, I chose a Junior’s Cheesecake. Behold. . .

This would be one of the Reece’s variety. Let me break this down. The bottom layer is brownie. On top of the brownie is Full sized Reece’s Cups. On top of that is cheesecake with just a touch of peanut butter in it. On top of that is fluffy chocolate icing, broken up Reece’s cups, and chocolate drizzle. Wow. Just look at it.

Fantasmagorical.

So, I’ve been snacking on that for a couple days.

Then, this morning, my Mom made me the mother of all breakfasts; biscuits with sausage gravy.

Yes, that’s mustard on top. Don’t judge me, and don’t knock it till you try it.

My Maw-Maw wanted to take me out for lunch at the Chinese buffet in Hampton Cove. I thought it was just going to be me and her. . .nope. She called my aunt and uncle, who called three of my cousins and their spouses. We ended up with nine people! I couldn’t believe it. Check out this orgy of food. . .

Then, they brought out the cake, and sang. . .  “Hoppy buhsday toooo yooooooo” It was great. Seriously, it was like the “fa ra ra ra ra” part of A Christmas Story, but it was a birthday, and no one hacked the head off of a Peking duck.

I honestly could have not asked for a better day.

Time to crack down on the diet tomorrow!!!

 

2 Responses to “Birthday Blog!”

  1. Heather Rose Says:

    Happy Birthday!!!! I’m about to turn 28, so I think I’m going to follow suit, and start celebrating anniversaries of my birthday. I’ll wait til 29, too. That’s a good YOUNG number to stick with.

    I gained weight just now, merely LOOKING at your birthday sweet treat. Oh my. Oh my.

    Love Love Love

  2. mandy Says:

    woo hoooo! glad to hear you had such a great day. all the pics of food have me drooling now. 🙂


Leave a Reply

